HELLO, world!

Standard

How do you even begin to blog when three jam-packed, filled-to-the-brim, larger-than-life months have passed by? I’ve heard the expression that you need to “eat an elephant one bite at a time” but I always found that metaphor to be particularly grotesque. So… word by word, bird by bird… here we go!

Owen is now two and Drew is now four. I have some draft “Dear Drew” and “Dear Owen” letters filed away in my computer, waiting to be paired with some favorite snapshots from the past year. However, I managed to fill my computer to the brim and am catching up on my triple back-up system before I can free up enough space for the computer to even function. So with the birthday letters and oh-my-gosh-they’re-getting-so-old post on the back burner, that leaves the everyday stuff!

(Yes, triple back-up. I’m a total nerd that uses two external hard drives–one in daily sync with the computer, another that is cumulative of all files and kept in a fireproof safe–and an unlimited space SmugMug account. I could never live with the Guilt with a capital G if I somehow managed to lose family photos!)

Soccer

Drew started a five-week soccer league and loves it. During the first practice, he was a bit nervous. He was focusing SO hard on not touching the ball with his hands when the ball seemed to say “PICK ME UP! THROW ME!” With all this concentration on the rules and a watchful eye on his coach, Drew didn’t see much action. I hoped he wouldn’t notice and that he was having fun. However, nothing gets by him. ;) He walked over to my blanket after practice and said, “How come I only got to try to kick a goal a few times? I think I need to be faster next week so I can get more chances.”

The following week, you could see his determination from the sidelines. He kept his focus and stayed right with the ball. I cried a few happy tears when he scored his first goal. I laughed and cheered when he scored his second goal (on his own team- ha!). Tonight was his fourth game and he even scored two goals. I am SO proud of him for working so hard to stay with the ball and focus on the game. I have to say that being a soccer mom is a total blast, and I hope that he continues to enjoy soccer nights as much as I do! (Not to mention his dad and grandparents and brother that have cheered him on at various points!)

Cabin

My grandma and grandpa sold their lake home, which was their full-time home that had separate living space in the walkout basement that served as our family’s ‘cabin.’ As much as I will miss our family’s occasional trips to the lake, I truly am so happy for them. They had been working on selling for a long time, and now can focus on getting settled in a lower maintenance place. Plus, this saves a few extra weekends for our beloved camping trips! Andy and I made it up north to help a few weeks ago and I bid a farewell to the lake life. I will miss it, but like I said– it’s a good thing for G&G. Me with Grandma at Easter, modeling our beautiful “amamal” necklaces.

Image

Summer Plans

I really had my heart set on a road trip to Oregon this summer to visit my baby sister. I had scoured U.S. maps and picked a beautiful route that would bring us to Glacier on the way there and through Yellowstone on the way home. We took two consecutive weeks of vacation at the same time (MIRACLE). And then we crunched the numbers and really didn’t feel like there was a place in the budget this year. Boo. :( I’m trying to look on the bright side and not think about how much I miss my baby sister! Fortunately, we’ll be seeing her for a very special trip home about a year from now when she gets hitched. She’s been gone for around eight or nine months and we’re getting better at employing a mix of email, text, FaceTime, and good ol’ phone calls to keep in touch. The boys are so thrilled about Amy’s engagement news and have already started calling her fiance “Uncle Rob.” In fact, he often makes it into their prayers long before “mommy” or “daddy”!

Longest Winter EVER.

It seriously snowed for six months straight. It was interminable. We were SO done with it. Whine. Blah. You get the idea. We spent several afternoons and evenings spreading snow into the culdesac to try to get it to melt faster. Desperate times, desperate measures.

Image

Image

Drew’s Story

Drew told me a story a few weeks ago while I typed. The story is entitled “Drew’s Farm,” and here’s what he shared. It may be important to note that his little buddy had just lost a family dog, so I apologize if you find the, eh.. theme of this story a bit odd. Ha!

“Once upon a time it was Drew’s farm. There was one baby chick in the forest. His name was Speedy because when you picked him up he speeded away. The mother went rushing after him because the dad was dead and could not be in the family anymore. And then a daddy horse galloped by. Then a horse and the mother and baby were dead and the dad, so they needed a mom. Here was the dad. The baby horse ran as fast as it could. Then he jumped over a net. Then there was another net that was even higher and he got stuck and could not get out but he was still alive. Then some sheep came by going to the farm. Three sheep came running by then three more then one more. then another cow came by and that’s all.”

Owen

Mr. Owen continues to be his easy-going self with some comedic antics and stubborn meltdowns thrown in. I think someone sent him a memo that two-year-olds are supposed to throw fits, and he can arch his back and roll around screaming with the best of them. However for the most part he is blessedly redirect-able. In the following picture I believe that his second giant bowl of mac-and-cheese was not coming quickly enough-

Image

We managed to get him to part ways with the Nuk, so I can’t help but realize that he really isn’t a baby anymore. Especially when you hear him talk, it is absolutely crystal clear that he is growing up FAST.

Image

And because I’ve truly been such an awful blogger, I’ll pick a few favorite photos from each month and consider this boring update ‘complete.’

Image

Image

Image

ImageImageImageImage

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for blogging, finally. I love reading them, even though I get to see the boys and you guys often. Your photos are always a treat. Like Great Grandma says, “Your boys are the most photographed children in the world!” I really love the picture of Grandma and you.

  2. Drew & Owen are getting so big! The things they say always have “Uncle Rob” and I laughing. I miss you all a lot, and I’m looking forward to visiting in a couple months!

Leave a Reply

